The Ryder Cup

The Ryder Cup

An estimated 3,000 fans galleried over the golf course on foot and an additional 500 golf carts driven by Thunderbird members and spectators.

Thunderbird Country Club Icon


  • Sammy Snead putting
  • Lord Brabazon
  • Captain Hudson
  • The Ryder Cup
  • The Ryder Cup golfers
  • The Ryder Cup British Team
The Ryder Cup

The Ryder Cup, a biennial men’s golf competition between teams from Europe and the United States, has been contested every two years since 1927. 


Out of thousands of golf courses, only 25 golf courses in America have hosted a Ryder Cup. In 1955 Thunderbird was selected to forever become a member of the very exclusive group of courses to host The Ryder Cup -  an unheard of honor for a young golf course in a remote part of the world at the time.

The Ryder Cup Golf Matches poster

For the competition, Thunderbird’s golf course was augmented with par being reset at 72 and the golf course lengthened to 6,600 yards.

The Ryder Cup US & Britain Teams poster

The American team was captained by 1954 PGA Champion Chick Harbert

The Ryder Cup golfers

Honorary U.S. Captain Lloyd Mangrum, Sam Snead, Cary Middlecoff (1955 Masters Champion), Ted Kroll, Chandler Harper, Marty Furgol, Doug Ford, Jack Burke, Jr., Tommy Bolt, and Jerry Barber made up the American Team.

Sammy Snead

The Americans won three out of four foursome matches on Saturday and five of the eight singles matches on Sunday.

Festivities and celebrations carried on in The Clubhouse after the competition. 

SCROLL OR CLICK FOR CHAPTER 04: The Ford Thunderbird